Praetorian Prefecture of the Orient

Latin: praefectura praetorio Orientis

Greek: ἐπαρχότης/ὑπαρχία τῶν πραιτωρίων τῆς ἀνατολῆς


One of the four praetorian prefectures established after the death of Conastantine I with main city Constantinople.

Dioceses: Thrace, Asia, Pontus, of the East, Egypt

Crossreferences in LABedia:




This page is part of the project LABedia: Еncyclopedia of Late Antique Balkans, 4th-5th c.,
financed by the National Science Fund, contract КП-06-Н30/6, 13.12.2018